Friday Follies IV – The incredible Thursday edition

You thought I was going away? Huh? Nothing stops the publication of Friday Follies! Nothing! Not wind, not snow, not rain. Perhaps a volcano, but that is statistically insignificant for our purposes. Today Cap’n Jimmy shares with you an important safety message from the G.I. Joe team. UPDATE: The Sauce won’t be showing up. According to “the rules”, it’s at our discretion whether to ding them with a default or not. In my opinion there’s been enough notice provided that it would be in our interest not to. As well, we can reschedule. Please post interest and availability in comments.

Next game: UBC

Known absences: The Sauce, James, Steve, Jen.

10 Responses to “Friday Follies IV – The incredible Thursday edition”


  1. 1 david karkut June 29, 2007 at 10:54 am

    I can play Sauce T, Th, F, S, Sn.

  2. 2 Rodney June 29, 2007 at 11:00 pm

    I’m good any night but Thurs. and Mara is unavailable on Tues. and Wed.

  3. 3 chad June 30, 2007 at 9:19 am

    I can play Fri, Sat, Sun, Mon, Tues (this week only)

  4. 4 Wendy July 3, 2007 at 11:18 pm

    I agree that ideally, it would be best to reschedule the game. However, in reality, I don’t know how practical this is. People have other commitments and I’m not sure it would be possible to field a team any other night during the week. We could try for a weekend, but again people are away.

    My availability is Tues/Weds/Fri evenings and Sat or Sun during the day. However, next week I am out of town.

  5. 5 davidkarkut July 4, 2007 at 12:48 pm

    let’s ding them for the loss – it’s their fault, regardless of the warning; we can’t find a time to make it up, so they lose. Period. we would have kicked their asses again anyway.

  6. 6 Rodney July 4, 2007 at 10:02 pm

    Word; Ding em.

  7. 7 2shoes July 6, 2007 at 9:48 am

    Um…no, I’m not going to ding them. First, they made a good faith effort to field a team, and gave us a considerable heads up when they couldn’t. If their captain had notified me an hour before the game, sure, but given the above to ding them – while within the rules – would be mean-spirited and petty. Second, The Sauce are a nice team.

    Let me remind you that this year and years past we have not been able to field a full team at 6pm and have always been accommodated by the other teams – because we too have a “nice” reputation, and this despite the fact we were being considerably more irresponsible than The Sauce was on this occasion. This goodwill is more valuable in my opinion than the single notch in the win column.

  8. 8 Rodney July 7, 2007 at 9:13 am

    Yes, it would be petty to ding em and I will temper my previous bold post.
    I have never played a makeup game and I feel the “let us reschedule plan” is hopeless. A truly spirited team would state they are unable to field a team and if the teams are unable to reschedule, the victory is ours. The VUL is supposed to have spirit before competition and in this vein what was done is best for The Squids. That said, I can’t help but feel cheated out of a victory.

  9. 9 david k July 10, 2007 at 7:55 am

    James, you’re right that we can be nice and not needlessley take default wins. Rod makes a good point that in future we accept offers to reschedule, BUT say that if a reschedule is not possible in 3 weeks that we log the win. In fact, I suggest that James initiate contact and pose exactly that. I’d prefer to play than win effortlessly.

  10. 10 2shoes July 10, 2007 at 8:01 am

    I think in this case it would be better to let it slide, but I’m comfortable making this standard practice for the future.


Leave a Reply

