Team vote!

There has been a request to put two proposals to a vote. Namely, that Matt – the tall, fast, highly-skilled sub who played for us yesterday – should be:

1. Our go-to sub.

2. Offered a full-time roster spot for the Fall.

Saying yes to #1 seems a no brainer to me, the only issue being he will probably be scooped by other teams who offer a full-time position, which I’m told is likely going to be the case. #2 is controversial to say the least. Please vote and, if desired, state your case in the comments. The key issue in my mind is whether there is actually going to be a sustained period this season where the entire current male roster will have full attendance. Paul is out for another week, and Steve is going to miss the next two. Beyond that, I don’t know.

12 Responses to “Team vote!”


  1. 1 david September 8, 2008 at 1:15 pm

    sure – do 2; i may be sidelined w/ baby more than usual.

  2. 2 Mara September 8, 2008 at 1:52 pm

    I think that I will refrain from voting as this decision does not directly effect me (due to my gender). I did enjoy his energy on our team this sunday.

  3. 3 Steve September 8, 2008 at 3:28 pm

    My vote is “Offered a full-time roster spot for the Fall”. Jen and i will be away the next 3 weeks.

  4. 4 Ivy September 8, 2008 at 5:35 pm

    I think Matt would be a great addition to our team but am leaving it up to the guys to vote for the same reason as Mara’s

  5. 5 Jennifer Brown September 8, 2008 at 7:54 pm

    i agree it’s out of my ‘jurisdiction’ but certainly #1. but he was great this sunday, came at last minute, and happily volunteered to be the cowboy!

  6. 6 chad September 9, 2008 at 9:25 am

    Well it’s great to have only six guys and we have been managing it quite well…so I don’t really see a problem. Picking up a guy sub in fall is relatively easy if we need to. I don’t see any urgency in picking someone up long-term…to me that only means we will end up having some games with seven guys…why would we want that? Also, I am assuming this is a guys vote? I hope some of you guys will reconsider…or accept less playing time when there are seven…I’d like to keep mine 🙂

  7. 7 2shoes September 9, 2008 at 9:33 am

    It’s my understanding that Matt would only be an addition for Fall 2008. And yes, it may be easy to pick up a guy sub, but not one of this calibre.

    As well, it’s beginning to sound like there might not be a day this season where the regular 6 guys are all in attendance. The smart play might be to lock up a solid player. But I would like to have more confirmed information about attendance plans.

  8. 8 chad September 9, 2008 at 10:41 am

    A roll call makes sense to me. I think I am available for every game from now on. Keep in mind that there is nothing wrong with risking playing with 5 or even 4 men. 4 is not something that we should aim for but I think we had our best win of the summer playing with only 4 down at Jericho…it was awesome! Playing with 5 is fun and not something that should necessarily be avoided provided the 5 a very sure of attending. To me it’s primarily about playing time and not the calibre of the pick-up. Perhaps we should do the same for the woman, Rodney mentioned we had a serious shortage on Sun? It’s not fair for the women to have to play with no subs…unless they want to of course 🙂 Cheers.

  9. 9 Joanna September 9, 2008 at 1:35 pm

    Squids have TWO FULL lines of women. Seeing that we did not have enough women on Sunday, is something to think about for the guys to avoid a similar situation. I like my playing time as well, but if it ensures enough gals then I’m willing to sacrifice that for my team. I think we should pick up the extra guy, but my vote doesn’t count. =) Who knows maybe new blood may re-energize the Squids (not counting last week’s game) ha ha

  10. 10 Rodney September 10, 2008 at 7:31 am

    I’ve never minded playing without a sub and prefer maximum playing time. I love the present structure of the team because our guys are reliable and fit. When a guy sub is needed Jo has never had a problem delivering. That said, it does seem that we’re going to be a little more guy challenged this Fall and I prefer a familiar regular over different sub every game. Matt has skills and I enjoyed his energy.

    With apologies to Chad, I’m seriously considering option #2 and locking down Matt (for Fall only) before we lose that option. I will deliver my final vote following ROLL CALL.

    ROLL CALL

    I will be present for every game this season, supreme being willing.

  11. 11 Paul September 15, 2008 at 4:32 pm

    I vote for sub only. I like my playing time, especially in the cold fall. Steve and Goran from my old Monday team are interested in being subs, plus we have Pat who played with us a bit last year, I don’t think getting guys will be an issue. I am in town the rest of the season except one week in October (however, travel my change)
    Paul

  12. 12 clarissasoto86937 April 8, 2016 at 4:21 am

    Informasi yang special one, ijin coba mas untuk diterapkan diblog saya Membuat Publikasi untuk Google Currents-nya Click http://link.mx/hool082015


Leave a Reply

